kdrama

laurel tree tailors eps 36-40

this set of episodes is probably the best for me – there were lots of great scenes and beautiful quotes about life.

best moments from episodes 36 to 40:

  1. the scenes between dongjin’s mom and yunshil –

i realize now that because i am thinking of them as equals i was indignant that they were unfair with yunshil, but then taking a step back, i guess they aren’t really colleagues, but more on owner/employee, thus, there is a heirarchy that they breached. that is one of the reasons why the parents don’t like the relationship. another is that yunshil is caught up in a dangerous relationship with gipyo – and might harm dongjin – which is what the mom is afraid of. hence, she pleaded with yunshil to let dongjin go. i was thinking that if she really thought of yunshil as a family, they would help her be free of gipyo, rather than washing their hands and pushing her away. this is one of the saddest scenes in this drama so far, i couldn’t help but cry for both of them and their situation.

beg2

beg3

2. every scene with Madame Ko is fun and hilarious!

from her crazy fashion

tagging along with Taeyang and Hyowon’s date — like the christmas club party scene, and the dinner where the mother and daughter kept feeding tae yang.

madame.JPG

food.JPG

being Taeyang’s manager – and supporting his “modelling career”- that scene when they played SNSD’s “Genie” while the mother-daughter tandem prayed that Taeyang will fail his teacher’s exam his awful but hilarious!

she gives Hyowon tips on how to handle her relationship –

MK: Wake up girl! Kang Tae Yang should say sorry first. Why do you attempt to make up with him?

HW: Does it matter who does it first?

MK: You should handle your man. If you spoil him now, you’ll lose initiative to Kang Tae Yang! You liked him so you asked him out. You told him that you loved him before he did. Then what did Kang Tae Yang do first? 

HW: I dont know.

MK: I think Kang Tae Yang should chase you around. Why are you chasing around Kang Tae Yang? Dont you have any kind of self-esteem?

HW: Self-esteem doesn’t matter when you love somebody.

MK: My goodness. Since you gave up your initiative, he’s treating you in such a way. So, you should make yourself less available from today. Keep that in mind that you’re the leader and Kang Tae Yang is the follower.

*phone rings* HW: It’s Taeyang. *grabs her phone*

MK: *slaps her phone away* What did i tell you? Make yourself less available. Dont respond to every attempt.

HW: Áre you saying that I shouldn’t get the call when he calls me?

MK: Trust me. I achieved everything with my wits. If you take my advice, you can be treated as a princess by Kang Tae Yang.

she is always fair when resolving the fights between the siblings,even though she likes Taeyang and dislikes Yunjin.

couple.JPG

grr.JPG

3. those breakup moments between yunshil and dong jin. and the wedding photoshoot.

*cries buckets of tears* i love this couple!

wedding.JPG

hug.JPG

when dongjin found her and she refused to go back with him:

leave.JPG

YS: It hurt and i’m in pain not because of your mom. It’s because of you. It took so much courage to leave the store. I’m practically forcing myself to stay here. Why did you come looking for me? If i give up and leave, no one else will get hurt. So leave me alone and go back home.

DJ: What nonsense is that? Dont you see the pain that you’re causing me? 

YS: the two of us only met a few months ago. We fought for most of that time. So even if we break up, we’ll get over it soon enough. 

DJ: Is that all you felt about me? I can’t be happy without you. You did this to me and now you want to break up? Do you think I’ll say yes? 

YS: I’m sick of it now. About you and your mom and Gipyo and his mom. It’s too much for me to handle. Why do you think I decided to leave the store and come here? Just go home. 

DJ: I’ll be unhappy without you. How can you talk about breaking up so easily? 

YS: If we stay together, we’ll only make each other unhappy. 

DJ: It’s cowardice to run away without trying. 

YS: You’re right. I’m a coward. To be with you I have to fight everything that comes our way. I can’t do that. I’d rather be a coward and run away. 

DJ: Do I make your life that tough to live? 

YS: This is the best for me. If you care for me, please go away. 

DJ: Is that what you want?

YS: Yes. So please leave. And never come here again.

4. the cotton candy proposal from taeyang (and the first time Taeyang called Hyowon “honey”)

honey.JPG

a heartfelt and sweet proposal from Tae yang was just perfect:

HW: What’s this?

TY: It’s for you. I’m not ready yet and don’t have much so I can’t officially propose to you. But Hyowon is mine. I want to tie you down with this ring. 

HW: Wow. this feels nice.

TY: It doesn’t have jewelry, but i put my heart in it. Will you happily accept it?

HW: If it’s a ring coming from your heart, it has to be the most expensive ring in the world. 

TY: Hyowon. You were the beam of light shining through darkness when the sky of my youth was falling down on me.  You were so bright that I don’t even remember being in the darkness. Thank you.

5. a great quote from Master Lee to Dong Jin:

ML: “I think that life is a series of meetings and partings. We all go through it repeatedly, you know. You two will meet again if you’re meant to be. I know that the process will be difficult and painful, but don’t let your heart get wounded. They say that time heals everything, you know.

DJ: You also couldn’t forget Mi Soon your whole life.

ML: That’s why I’m telling you this now. When Mi Soon left me, I felt like my entire world had collapsed. But I met your mum after that and made a happy family together as you know. When you go on with your life, all of those painful memories become faint and get forgotten.

6. the very first time dong jin ever had a fight with his mom

*dongjin’s expression was so painful to watch*

DJ: Mother, did you really do it? Did you tell Yunshil to leave?

Mom: Yes. I told her to leave. I told her that I’ll never accept her as my daughter in law and to leave our house as well as the tailor shop. 

DJ: How could you do that to someone so kind and sad? This is all she has to rely on. How could you be so terrible? Were you such a cruel woman? Were you?

Master Lee: How dare you say your mother is cruel? Your mother knows Yun Shil better than you and no doubt did she care for her more than you did. If your mother said that, s he must have had her reasons. 

DJ: What reasons? What reasons could possibly explain her actions?

Mom: I can’t bear to see my son throw himself into a fire pit. You have a bright future ahead of you. I can’t watch you ruin your life because of Yun shil. No matter how cruel you say I am and how much more your criticize me, I can’t help myself. 

the worst moments from the episodes

  1. Samdo’s constant lying and hiding from Sunnyeo about Young Eun

I really didn’t like the storyline. Sunnyeo has been nothing but nice to Samdo ever since they made up and here goes Samdo again. He knows very well sunnyeo will go on beast mode once she finds out about Young Eun and yep, she did just that! I feel bad for Young eun who got her hair pulled when Samdo is the coward. I didn’t even feel sympathy for him when he cried because of “humiliation”.

samdo.JPG

hair.JPG

cry.JPG

2. Sunnyeo’s sickness and threat of divorce

Another bad storyline – i’m not sure if this is supposed to make Samdo realize how much he loves Sunnyeo but this was cringeworthy. I remember being so bored with the fake pregnancy and the wimpy Sunnyeo, and here she goes again, getting so dramatic when she does not even know the test results! For all we know, she is just pregnant!!!

divorce.JPG

doc.JPG

divorce1.JPG

3. Every moment I see Hyosang and Yujin!!!

Hyo sang is such a loser. no matter how much money he has, he can’t buy class – from wanting to marry an ambitious fake gold digger, to being a bad CEO and to sabotaging Dongjin’s business! Yunjin is equally pathetic – i see her “insincere face”and I want to slap her. I am so happy that Taeyang is so over her! i’m not sure how their storyline will go – will Hyosang really marry Yunjin (and they both get their happy ever after?). I actually dont care coz they deserve each other, i just wish they leave Taeyang alone.

hyosang1.JPG

hyosang.JPG

4. Hyojoo.

I feel nothing for her. she had her chance with Dongjin, she treated him like dirt. now her company is losing money and she realizes he was the best thing that happened to her and now wants him back. i dont like her desperate attempts to take to dongjin’s parents or her attitude against yunshil. why would dongjin want to go back to her when she can clearly see that he is much happier with yunshil? if she really loves him she would let him go.

Leave a Reply

